Darien EMS-Post 53 is lead by six young adult officers who are elected annually along with an Executive Director and two assistant directors.


On October 1, 2018 Joe Larcheveque was named Executive Director of Post 53. Joe is the ninth Director to lead Post 53 since its inception. He is supported by a corps of highly trained and experienced adult advisors. Pictured is Joe with outgoing Director Nancy Herling.

Student leadership is headed by the officers elected each year by the Post membership. The 2023-2024 officers are:

Kai Sparks – President
Brendan Haidinger – Vice President of Operations
Lucy Calvillo – Vice President of Training
Charlotte Volz – Vice President of Student Affairs
Tristan Adams – Vice President of Administration
Jillian Slonieski – Vice President of Finance


A group of 80+ young adults are committed to serving the Darien Community 24/7 365 days a year.


The role of Adult Advisors at Post 53 is to provide guidance and oversight to the young adults. From the beginning at Post 53, following the example of Bud Doble, adult advisors have played a role in teaching and working alongside the young adults.

Adult volunteers undertake the same extensive training as the young adults including the EMT certification course. Adults staff the first responding ambulance during school hours. These volunteers are fondly called “day ladies” however a corps of men is also actively involved. Adults may serve as crew chief during evening duties and are the Supervisor in the fly car 24/7, 365 days.

Adult Advisors also play a role in managing the Post through mentoring and guidance of young adults in day to day operating duties, including: ambulance operations, interior cleaning and maintenance, supplies, training, radio equipment, and communications, technology and community relations.


Darien EMS-Post 53 is a private, not-for-profit 501(C)(3) organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.

The current Chairman of the Board is Petter Ostberg, a Darien resident. He is joined by community residents, the Director of Post 53, adult advisors and student leaders.


Board Members: 

Evan Cohen
Kristin Edwards
Dawn Edgar
Richard Harding
Randy Heck
Nancy Herling, Emeritus
Richard Koch


Jeanne Matson
Kate O’Brien
Petter Ostberg, Chair
Julie Sweeney, MD
Susan Warren, Emeritus